DF Peanut Butter Chocolate Fudge (with Pumpkin!)

The perfect way to illustrate how pumpkin can sometimes make me feel was my flatmate saying “you can have the other half of my pumpkin, I was traumatised trying to cut that thing up!” It seems a little dramatic at first but then you try to conquer a pumpkin yourself and then you get it. I don’t LOVE it, it honestly tastes a little strange to me and I would prefer sweet potato over it any dat. Having said that, when I baked it really simply and then puréed it, I found it subdued the taste a lot and was super useful to chuck in things like smoothies, pancakes, cookies and fudge! I know – it sounds a bit weird but half of the time you don’t even taste it. It has definitely changed my outlook on using pumpkin and it is the perfect way to sneak more of your daily veg into your diet/trick yourself into eating more vegetables, hehe.

So, yeah this recipe was generally made because I was desperate to get rid of the last of my pumpkin purée but it actually turned out amazing and delicious. I am now addicted and have to hide it at the back of the fridge so that I don’t eat it all. It’s very high in healthy fats and has quite a bit of maple syrup in it so it probably is best in moderation…right?

INGREDIENTS

FUDGE:

  • 1/2 cup refined coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 heaped cup smooth peanut butter or nut butter of choice
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup can also use honey
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ⅛ teaspoon sea salt

CHOCOLATE SWIRL

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2-3 heaps tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup

METHOD

  1. Melt coconut oil in a saucepan over medium-low heat or in the microwave for about 30 seconds to a minute.
  2. Whisk in the nut butter, pumpkin puree, maple syrup, cinnamon, vanilla extract and salt until completely smooth.
  3. Pour mixture into a lined pan. Add dollops of the chocolate mixture and use a toothpick to create a swirl design of your own.
  4. Refrigerate until chilled and firm, about 2 hours.
  5. Using a sharp knife, cut into squares.
  6. Store in the refrigerator.

This will go pretty soft outside of the fridge so get your hands on it quick if it finds its way out of the cold. Also, if you want it a little firmer it would also sit happily in the freezer. Generally these will last for up to a couple of weeks, if no-one has eaten them by then. See how it goes! I hope you love them as much as me.


X

One thought on “DF Peanut Butter Chocolate Fudge (with Pumpkin!)

Leave a comment