Coconut Oil and Honey Hair Mask

My thought process with this post was that summer is coming up and I need my hair looking healthy and feeling great if I am going to be growing it out again. Also, Mum recently bought some more coconut oil which we haven’t had in the house for a while, so I took the opportunity to finally give my hair some much needed treatment.

Coconut oil is absolutely raved about left, right and centre nowadays with all of it’s miracle health benefits. I will be honest, it is my personal favourite. I usually use it for all of my cooking needs, particularly the granola I so often create. Although, I have made face masks from it before, and now, I am using it in my hair!

I will be honest, the idea of putting oil into my hair was somewhat worrying because I didn’t want it to become more oily. However, the delightful softness of my hair post-wash overcame  of the oily aspect of things. Admittedly, my hair was a little greasy after washing the mask off, but that is likely to be due to my lacklustre hair washing. I will do a better job next time. Then again, you have to try it once to see what it’s like, don’t you?

There were several other hair mask recipes that I could have tried, going as far as rosemary, avocado and coconut oil…I was somewhat hesitant to use this one. It looked far too green. Then again, my intrigue considered it for a moment before I realised we were out of avocados. Oh well, there’s always a next time!

15292761_10210578887643664_1441688067_o

The recipe is incredibly simple though: coconut oil and honey. (I used our Manuka honey because it is a raw, organic honey, curated specifically from the nectar of manuka trees.)

1 tbsp coconut oil (softened)
1 tbsp honey 

I didn’t really have to tell you that, but there it is anyway. Nothing fancy.

Mix up the two ingredients, cover your hair with it from top to bottom, preferably wet hair but it works on dry too! Wait about 30-40 minutes and then wash it off as you would normally, with shampoo etc, and you should be left with gloriously soft hair that you won’t be able to resist constantly running your fingers through during the day.

Not only is it soft, I noticed a particular shine in my hair that I didn’t have before, so something must have worked! Hallelujah coconut oil! If you guys have any other miracle hair masks that you have tried and tested that work wonders, share them in the comments below! I would love to try them!

Stay beautiful.

Evie xx

P.S hair is not fully dried in the picture below, because I am lazy and my hair takes ages to blow-dry. Notice the lack of split ends though! Miraculous excellence.

15271560_10210578903324056_1571734468_o

Leave a Reply

