Chocolate Chip Cookie Sandwiches

I know what you’re thinking…is THAT chocolate ganache in between those cookies? Is that even legal? Who knows, but it certainly is a killer of a combination.

It is November here in New Zealand and every student is prepping for the onslaught of studying and exams in order to get through to the summer holidays. I have already accumulated a sunburn of all sunburns during one particular sunny study session, leading me to resort to studying indoors with a bottle of Aloe Vera sat beside me at all times. Exam study periods can be taken a number of ways whichever way you look at it. You can try and study all day, every day and run yourself down to the point where nothing makes sense anymore OR you could take a break from the endless droll of repetitive sentences every now and then. Stop to make yourself a treat you really deserve. Which sounds better to you?

img_9043

My answer led me to create these bad boys. First they started out as simple chocolate chip cookie dough balls, made in typical Evie fashion, late at night. Then, placed in the freezer for future use, the cookie dough sat there for less than a day before I got it out for better use. Forward thinking is key. I just used a simple chocolate chip recipe from Betty Crocker which you can find here, but you can probably use any type of cookie recipe you’d like. I imagine this would be amazing with triple chocolate chip cookies.

For the ganache, I also just used a recipe that I took from the internet, but the formula itself is very simple. All you need is equal parts chocolate and cream. I used 500g of each and I had enough to do about 8 sandwiches with tupperware box of ganache left over.

img_9048

And now for the pièce de résistance. Warning: this part is pretty messy but very easy.

Grab one cookie and, using a knife, spread a dollop of ganache onto one side of the cookie, then place another cookie on top and squeeze lightly together. Repeat until you are out of cookies and you’re belly is full of ganache. These should last up to a week in the fridge, but I doubt they would really last that long!

img_9045

So, take a break. Treat yourself

And…

P.S 42 DAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS.

xx

Leave a Reply

