Vegan Banana Protein Pancakes

Helloooo.

So, as I have said before, this year I am flatting and have pretty much turned vegetarian. I elected to not buy meat in the attempt to be financially wise and avoid breaking the bank. This also applies for eggs. I’m not sure why, I have nothing against eggs but it is another expense that I didn’t think I would miss. However, when I came to making pancakes one weekend morning, I was stumped with what I would make them out of. I didn’t have any binding agent. Similarly, I was looking for another way to use my protein powder so that I didn’t have to settle for daily protein shakes. So, I googled ‘vegan protein pancakes’ and this recipe popped up from Vega.

38825308_1638873369567841_3553404564864499712_n

Now, I confess these pancakes are not perfect. In my opinion, you can’t go into making pancakes without the conventional ingredients and expect to have a perfectly identical result. In the absence of egg, replaced by banana, the texture is much denser than your average pancake. However, if this doesn’t bother you then by all means continue reading for after a while you get used to the texture and learn to love this snack.

Admittedly, I didn’t even have all of the necessary ingredients to achieve the “perfect pancake”. It turns out baking soda is integral in many recipes. However, I made do with baking powder, however I imagine the addition of baking soda would help the density issue that I have encountered with these.

38778009_437056763446006_8676386876304654336_n

Ingredients
  • 1 large banana, mashed
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk (almond, coconut, rice etc.)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 serving of your preferred protein powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
Proper Method (found on myvega.com)
  1. Whisk together non-dairy milk, mashed banana and vanilla extract. Set aside.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix remaining dry ingredients.
  3. Incorporate the dry ingredients into the wet, mix until just combined. Add more non-dairy milk if batter appeard too thick.
  4. Melt coconut oil in a non-stick pan over medium heat, or use a griddle.
  5. Add a quarter cup of the batter into the pan. Flip once bubbles have formed and popped (approximately 2 minutes per side).
In a Rush / Lazy Method (my method)
  1. Add all ingredients into a blender.
  2. Blend until smooth.
  3. Melt oil in a non-stick pan over medium heat.
  4. Add a tablespoon or two of the pancake mixture into the pan. Flip once bubbles have formed and popped.
  5. Serve with anything you fancy. I smothered mine with strawberry jam and sprinkled it with coconut flour.

38931984_2075604629422533_7796010505809690624_n

After my last post Help! My Love’s Gone Long Distance, I thought that I would keep this post short and sweet. So, I hope that all those vegans and non-vegans out there interested in getting a protein boost and also feeling like a treat enjoy this recipe as much as I do.

X

Leave a comment