Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Being a conscious and healthy eater is all very well but I think in the scheme of things we forget that we are human. Humans make mistakes, humans are creatures of imperfection. We aren’t always fit, toned and healthy in body, soul and mind. However, we are also the creators of the humble chocolate chip cookie. This is definitely not a flaw in human creation. Cookies can be often overcomplicated by the addition of various spices or dried fruits, sprinkles or even macadamias and white chocolate. Although these creations are delicious, the classic chocolate chip cookie can never be outdone in the cookie world. Transferring over to a dairy free diet, the classic chocolate chip cookie was not an option for me. Therefore, living such a lifestyle, I ventured to find another version of this sweet treat. Guess what? I found one, and it is really quite good.

The general components of a cookie are the fat (usually butter), sugar and flour. These are the essential pillars of all baked goods. This leave great scope for experiment with all of the new flours, alternative fats and sugar-free sweeteners going around. Nevertheless, I stick by my word. I like to keep my baking simple. Real. When it comes to baking, I went through years of experimenting with raw ingredients and admittedly, half of the time I was not successful. I would watch my family cringe at the taste of my very earthy and sugar-free treats, most of which I would end up eating myself so as not to waste them. As a result, I like to keep my baking simple when I am short of fancy ingredients. Due to the lack of exotic ingredients like coconut sugar in my cupboard and the stringent student budget that bars me from buying vats of coconut oil, I have stuck to the traditional cookie ingredients. I have varied the fat content to suit my own preference. In turn, I have created what is still quite a refined cookie and by no means “healthy”, but one which does contain healthier fats and is completely egg and dairy free. Note that the self-raising flour was the only thing I had in the ways of baking powder/soda in the house but using it actually created a really fluffy and chewy cookie and I don’t think I will ever look back now.

Ingredients

Yields: 12-15 cookies

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (i sued my favourite Fix and Fogg brand)
  • 1/2 cup applesauce* ( made from 1 apple, 1 tsp lemon juice, 1 tbsp cinnamon)
  • 1/2 cup oil of your choice
  • 3/4 cup organic granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips (vegan)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C. Begin by making the applesauce. Diced the apple and add to a small pan with the lemon juice, cinnamon and a few tablespoons of hot water. Cook until apples are soft and can be crushed into a smooth sauce, you may otherwise use a food processor.
  2. Mix the wet ingredients together until combined in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Mix the dry ingredients until combined. Add to the wet ingredients until combined. The mixture may be crumbly at first, keep going.
  4. Add in the chocolate chips.
  5. Take a tablespoon amount of the mixture and add to a lined baking tray. If you like your cookies nice and fluffy, don’t press the mixture down. Otherwise, flatten them slightly. They will rise a small amount.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown. Allow them to cool slightly on the tray before transferring to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

And that’s it. The vegan cookie recipe that is arguably my best yet. Not overcomplicated, not free of all things refined, but still a wholesome and crowd-pleasing cookie. My flatmates can confirm.

Until next time…

X

Leave a comment