Hug-A-Pug Day

Hey guys! So, I am now down in the windy city of Wellington, which is going to be my home for the next 5 years. I have been incredibly busy as it is O-Week (orientation week), possibly the most hectic, emotionally draining and most enjoyable week of my life so far! It’s always scary going to a new place, meeting new people and putting yourself out there but let’s be honest, 9 out of 10 times it all works out in the end and you end up having so much fun. Speaking of which, I could have made a post about moving to Wellington but I thought that I would skip to the good stuff. The real deal: pugs.

There have been plenty of events occurring this week making it probably one of the busiest weeks of the year, concurring with a new influx of students moving down and every else moving back for the start of university next week. Therefore, why not heighten the excitement, and calm the stress of moving with offering free pug hugs in the centre of town?

img_1941

The thing I love most about Wellington is that you can pretty much walk everywhere. The hall that I am staying in this year is quite central to the CBD and in order to reach the waterfront, or the high street, it is literally a 5-10 minute walk. I can’t describe to you how much of a conflict that is for me. On one hand it is ultimately very convenient, however as a student, living in such a close proximity to that many shops…it is certainly a struggle to refrain from spending. Nevertheless, it does mean that it takes very little time to walk to events like these that you simply cannot pass up! The venue for this event was outside the Rogue and Vagabond Bar on Garrett Street, only a 5/10 minute walk from us! It seemed a waste of cuddles not to go.

img_1968

Don’t you think that it is strange how pugs have become such a phenomenon in western society? With mantras like “Pugs not Drugs” and “Keep Calm and Love Pugs” circling social media and even appearing on clothing, their popularity has soared for no apparent reason. Let’s all be honest here, they are not the prettiest of doggies and they probably aren’t the best spooning buddies to keep around due to their nasally breathing. However, I will hand it to them, they are undeniably adorable. Look at Niblet  (shown above) for example, how can you not look into those eyes and feel your heart skip a beat a little.

I personally think that days like this are the best kind of therapy. Cuddling a dog for free, without the responsibility of keeping one….um hello!? Best idea ever! Better yet, for a gold coin donation, you can get a professional photograph taken of you and a pug of your choice, benefiting both yourself and contributing to the efforts of NZ Pug Rescue. Already wishing that you had attended? Or are you hurriedly scanning the internet for an event just like it near you? Pop down to your nearest SPCA and have a cuddle instead. For I believe that taking a bit of time out of your day to do something like that can be the difference between a good and a bad day.

img_1953

I will try and keep you all posted on my adventures over the next couple of weeks, but I am returning to the gruelling routine of education on Monday, so I may have my hands quite full. Let’s see how that goes. Baby steps, baby steps. However, Wellington is filled with cute little cafes and beautiful views, so no doubt I will have plenty to show you all because I can’t resist exploration.

For now, I will bask in the memory of pug cuddles and the sunlight shining through my window.

xx

Leave a Reply

