Café Melba

“The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.” -Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

I read To Kill A Mockingbird the other day and I absolutely fell in love with it. So much so that I wanted to read it again the moment I finished it. I have become really involved in reading the vintage classics like George Orwell and Thomas Hardy, just to see what all the fuss is about and now I can see what makes a good book. I’m not sure that I’ll be able to go back to modern-day fiction again.

Nevertheless, I will tell you somewhere that I would happily go back to, Café Melba on Hurstmere Road in Takapuna. A quaint, narrow, little cafe with big open windows and simple furniture. I guess there is nothing that unique or special about Café Melba, it is just another typical breakfasting location, however I think that it’s this simplicity that is something of appeal to many people for I would have said that it was pretty busy when I went.

11997881_10206970098026179_198276161_n (1)

In all honesty, I chose Café Melba mainly for its price range; nice and reasonably cheap. For example their cakes range from about $6 which isn’t too bad and their meals are around the $15-$20 mark which for a breakfast out is not too shabby and the serving sizes are an ideal for a filling breakfast.

11992548_10206970097986178_1121597115_n

You know how sometimes you don’t see a friend for a couple of months and you see them again and have so many things to catch up on? Well, that is Anna and I in a nutshell. We don’t go to the same school and aren’t particularly proactive with organising weekly lunches, therefore we find ourselves having not seen each other for months and immediately arrange a lunch or breakfast date to catch up on all the gossip like typical girls do. Café Melba served this purpose perfectly, with Smashed Avocado on Toast and Puhoi Feta with smoked Salmon ($20.50) for Anna and a 3 Egg Omelette with feta, caramelised onion, baby spinach and capsicum ($15.50) for myself.

11998131_10206970097946177_1945500848_n

So, I suggest if you need a simple and semi-cheap place to have breakfast with a friend, Café Melba should be on your list. Lovely and local.

Check out their website here.

Evie x

Leave a Reply

