Sushi Date, No Makeup

“The more that you read, the more things you’ll know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” – Dr. Suess

Yesterday was a sick day for me and it always seems to be during season changes, just when the weather is turning and my body’s reaction is “here we go again.” Also I think it may have something to do with the air conditioning at school and it’s this unfortunate case of having to sit right beneath the cold blast of the fan, when it’s pumping out 18°C of air that feels like -10°C as you’re trying to concentrate, that has inadvertently brought me to creation of this post. Then again, I am grateful for it on the hotter days when one may actually melt into their chair during class if the air conditioning is not turned on. 

As I was saying, yesterday was a sick day so I was subjected to resting in my comfortable bed, and drinking mugs of hot Lemsips and writing blog posts, it was a tough day to be honest. However, usually I get pretty bored around midday when there is nothing to do, I’m not tired enough to sleep, I don’t want to watch movies and I’ve written a blog post already, so I begin to fidget and then my stomach grumbles a little and I think to myself, “hmm, what can I eat?”

When I was younger, Mum and I used to take a shopping trip to a huge retail store called Selfridges in Birmingham, England. Everytime we’d go to YO! Sushi for lunch, a japanese restaurant with a revolving conveyor belt, where the readily available food that is cooked in front of you is placed on and you’re left to choose your meal from a selection of small little plates of goodness-one can get quite carried away!
Knowing how much I loved the stuff, Mum bought home a Sushi cookbook one day much to my excitement, thinking “now I can create my favourite food for myself.” Nowadays, the skills I learnt back then, I can still use now which is always helpful. So I’m guessing by now you have already guessed what I made myself for lunch? Yeah, you guessed it. Sushi. There’s not many things that I love more than sushi. It’s fresh, healthy and tasty and that’s good enough for me!

Have you ever wanted to learn how to make a sushi roll? Well here is a basic recipe on here for you to allow you do the creating for yourself! Bear in mind you need about 20 minutes to cook the rice before you can actually start making the sushi. I know, it’s the worst part because you just want to make the sushi, I know the feeling!

First, you need your ingredients. Apart from the rice, rice wine vinegar and the nori, you can put anything you want inside of the sushi! Usually I choose salmon and chicken and occasionally tuna, but it’s entirely up to you.

So here’s what you’ll need:

  • Sushi Rolling Mat
  • Sushi Rice
  • Nori Sheets (Toasted Seaweed=green stuff outside of the rice)
  • Rice Wine Vinegar
  • Meat of your choice
  • Cucumber, sliced
  • Avocado
  • Capsicum/Pepper (UK)
  • Whatever else you want

sushi ingredientsStart off with cooking your rice by following the Sushi Cooking Method on the back of the packet. Usually it calls for 1 cup of rice, rinsed and 1 1/2 cups of cold water placed into a saucepan. Then, wait for it to boil and simmer for 10-15 minutes. Do not stir.
Once you have done this, remove from the heat and place in a non-metallic bowl. Now add 3-4 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar and wait for the rice to cool.

Once the rice has cooled, lay down the rolling mat with the sticks lying horizontally in front of you, then lay one nori sheet (shiny side down) onto the mat. This is the start of your sushi roll. Now, using a spoon, preferably a wooden one (the rice sticks to a metal spoon like there’s no tomorrow) and spread about two spoonfuls onto the nori sheet, leaving a small border around the edge.

sushi before

Now, add your goodies! I used red capsicum, cucumber and salmon. I was so gutted that there was no avocado in the house and the car wasn’t there so I couldn’t even drive down to get some, so I had to make do, that’s life sometimes. If you do have avocado though, I recommend using it!

SOOOSHNow for the difficult part. Using two hands, firmly and carefully start to roll the sushi up, keeping the bamboo sheet outside of the roll whilst making sure the nori has been rolled around the ingredients and that none of them have fallen out as this would result in an anything-but-circular piece of sushi. Remember to roll it firmly, otherwise it will fall apart when you come to cutting it up. Good luck with that!

rolling dat sushi
I had to use one hand in order to take the photo…

Never fear, the hard part is over! With a sharp knife, carefully slice the sushi into 2 or 3 cm pieces. Now, you should have something that looks a little like this…sushi roooolll

Bravo! You’ve made sushi! If you’re anything like me, you’ll have eaten half of the ingredients before you’d have even made it and therefore have lost your appetite by the time it’s complete. Nevertheless, congratulations! Sushi is something of a work of art and therefore something to be proud of if you have managed to make it look like it does the pictures because we all know that is the aim, noone likes ugly looking food, do they?

Sushiiii

If you did follow my recipe and successfully managed to make some sushi, let me know! I’d love to hear how it went! If you’d like me bring some sushi over, like a couple of my friends ask me to whenever they hear I’m making sushi, sorry but I’ve eaten it all.

I hope that this recipe was helpful to those who have followed it and for those who are now craving sushi because of reading this, you’re welcome!

Happy eating everyone!
Evie x

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I adore sushi. I made it once just to find out what it was like and tick it off my bucket list, but never made it again after that. I usually just buy it.

    Like

    1. eviemargs says:

      Yeah i usually buy it too but sometimes it’s easier to make it. It’s so good either way!

      Like

  2. serenaglow says:

    Looks gorgeous !

    Like

Leave a Reply

