Earl Grey Tea Granola

“Imagination is more important than knowledge” -Albert Einstein

I can’t believe it’s May! How did it come about so fast, we’re nearly half way through the year, how scary is that!?! Anyway, before you crinkle your nose at the title of the blog post, let me explain. I discovered this recipe yesterday as I was hunting through different blogs looking for new sites to follow and to get some inspiration for branching out in my baking whilst avoiding complicated vegan recipes that include three different flours that I have never even heard of…sorghum flour…what even is that?! Anyway, I stumbled upon My Happy Place and scrolling through the sweet, delicious recipe index I spotted Earl Grey Tea Granola. I paused, clicked on the link and waited, intrigued. I used to be a standard tea drinker with a glug of milk and a teaspoonful or two of sugar: Earl grey, builders tea or English Breakfast. However, I’m more of an avid Green Tea person now and no longer a fan of brown teas so I was a bit skeptical about this recipe as I was concerned that it would just taste of a cup of tea but then again, that would not be such a bad thing, would it?


11178655_10205911007469577_224633221_nEarl Grey is a very fragrant type of tea and therefore it sort of makes sense that it would be used as a flavour. However, it’s because we associate it with only the hot, liquid type of Earl Grey, we think it strange to see an Earl Grey Sponge or Granola, nevertheless I was pleasantly surprised at the result of this recipe. The lemon zest and juice in the granola is really brought out and adds a nice sweetness that doesn’t taste too sugary, it’s a subtle flavour that really compliments the spices of cardamom and cinnamon, and the fragrance of the tea. I added less sugar and honey that required purely because I didn’t want it to be too sweet but everyone has their own preferences. As I have said before, I always like to try something new and as I had coincidentally run out of my last batch of granola I thought what a perfect opportunity to whip up a batch of this unique granola. I had been working last night and it seems that I am always full of boundless energy when I get home around 9:30pm/10:00pm, so I got home and immediately switched on the oven ready to make this recipe for this morning’s breakfast.

11185751_10205910978228846_475884835_n

Here is the recipe I adapted from Baking Magique:

Ingredients

  • 3 tsp loose leaf earl grey tea or 1 earl grey tea bag
  • 2/3 cup boiling water
  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans (I used walnuts which work too!)
  • 1/4 cup poppy seeds
  • 1/4 cup golden flax seeds
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • zest and juice from a small(or 1/2 large) organic lemon
  • 1/4 cup raw cane sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup canola oil (I used coconut oil)

I didn’t add these next ingredients because I don’t like dried fruit in my granola but feel free to add them!

  • 2/3 cup dried blueberries
  • 2/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 3,5 oz (100 g) chopped white chocolate

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 175°C/350°F
  2. Let 3 tsp loose leaf earl grey tea(in a tea ball) or 1 earl grey tea bag infuse 2/3 cup of boiling water for 5-15 minutes, depending on how strong you’d like it to be.
  3. Mix rolled oats, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, chopped nuts, poppy seeds and golden flax seeds in a large bowl and set aside.
  4. Mix the infused earl grey tea with the rest of the wet ingredients, except for the dried berries and white chocolate, in a saucepan over low heat until just melted.
  5. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry and mix thoroughly.
  6. Spread the granola on a baking tray lined with parchment paper.
  7. Bake in the middle of the oven for 40 min or until golden brown. Stir the granola every 10 minutes.
  8. Let the granola cool completely on the tray before you mix it with the dried berries and chopped white chocolate. Store in an airtight container in a cool and dry place.

Notes

The granola will still be a little soft when you take it out of the oven but it will get crispy once cooled completely.

11198398_10205910978308848_184899404_n

On a separate note, LOOK AT MY NEW TEASPOON! If you can’t read it, it says “Spoon Me”. I saw this spoon and I had to have it! It’s one of the cutest things I have seen and I like teaspoons for some reason so it was practically fate. I got it from the T2 in the city, a dinky little tea-shop full of wonders. We were there for a birthday present for a friend and ended up chatting to the store clerk who was very upbeat and absolutely lovely, chatting with us as if we were out having a coffee. As I admired the teaspoons in a large bowl on the counter he mentioned that there were engraved ones near the bottom which he dug around for. Finally pulling out this! I was a little ecstatic, worryingly so. Now I look back on it, all I can think is what a great salesman he was and that I spent $20 on a teaspoon…woops. OH WELL, so worth it. Life is for living after all.

I’m off to a friend’s birthday party tonight and no doubt will be indulging in this granola again tomorrow morning after a night out! I hope everyone has had a lovely week, it’s the weekend now so enjoy!
Evie xx11208787_10205910978148844_364065098_n

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi! Hope you liked the recipe! Looks delicious 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eviemargs says:

      I did! I couldn’t really taste the earl grey though because i only steeped the teabag for a couple of minutes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

