Hillydilly: My music platform

“One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.” -Bob Marley

I have one word for you. Hillydilly.

UGnIiLML_400x400My music temple and supplier of the majority of my iTunes library nowadays, simply quoted from the page itself, Hillydilly is “dedicated to unearthing new music…connecting the average music fan to all the good music that’s out there.” I can’t argue with that. This isn’t JUST indie music either, I know that’s what it seems like! It has everything from rap and hip-hop to more mainstream tunes that are on the charts, with exception for Tay Swifty and J Biebs’ music.

Honestly, I can’t even remember how I was introduced to Hillydilly but I have a feeling that it was either Instagram or Buzzfeed as they are my two go-to information hotshot apps. Nevertheless, I have been making use of it for a while now and even discovered good music before my brother could even link it to me which is very satisfactory. He is a huge influence on my music taste and preferences so it’s great to be able to contribute equally good music to our conversations. Thank you Hillydilly!d9kvvwewagswnmmassa6

My favourite feature by far is the ability to listen to and make your own playlists of the music that you find on there, so without having the fuss of downloading new music every day I can listen to my playlists, although admittedly I do download a lot of it because then I can listen to it offline. OH OH OH! I forgot the best feature! They design playlists to suit a particular mood or activity e.g Study, Dream, Sad, Happy, Romantic, Workout, Party, Head-nod. However I won’t lie, some of the songs are not to my liking and the playlists aren’t flawless but the site is designed to appeal to everyone, not just me. Yet it has helped me discover some of my favourite artists like Oh Wonder and Tom Misch and one of my all time favourite chill tunes Young by Vallis Alps! Driving to this song is absolutely perfect! I could go on forever about the great music I have found on there.

hillyD

I know that I have quite a definite music genre preference, it is mostly Electronic stuff but really it depends what mood I am in because I would happily listen to a bit of Ed Sheeran, Linkin Park or Jack Johnson any time of the day. Not to mention George Ezra, his voice is like a warm cup of hot chocolate on a cold winters day. Mmmm.

ANYWAY. Back to Hillydilly. I’m deeply, madly, irrevocably in love with this website. Music is a large part of my life, I can’t go a day without listening to it. Like coffee is to a teacher, music is my theraputic daily hit. Helping me through the past years of my life better than any person could, I now find solace in listening to music. Somehow it manages to pinpoint an emotion that brings out the better side of me: giving me extra energy at the gym, a spring in my step on the walk to school or a deep breath during stressful times.

Please go and check it out! Hopefully you won’t be disappointed! Let me know if you discover anything you really love: http://www.hillydilly.com/

Hope everyone had a lovely Easter.

Evie x

Leave a Reply

